Connecting education to exceptional patient care.



  James Bagian, MD

  Clinical Professor

  Institute for Healthcare Policy & Innovation

  University of Michigan

James P. Bagian, MD, PE, has extensive experience in the fields of human factors, aviation and patient safety. Dr. Bagian currently serves as the founding Director of the Center for Healthcare Engineering and Patient Safety and Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology and the College of Engineering at the University of Michigan. Previously, he served as the first and founding director of the Veterans Administration’s (VA) National Center for Patient Safety and as the VA’s first Chief Patient Safety Officer.  A NASA astronaut for over 15 years, he is a veteran of two Space Shuttle missions including as the lead mission specialist for the first dedicated Life Sciences Spacelab mission.  Following the 1986 Challenger space-shuttle explosion, he dove and supervised the capsule's recovery from the ocean floor and was one of the leaders of the development of the Space Shuttle Escape System. He was elected to two terms as the Chair of the Joint Commission’s Patient Safety Advisory Group, was the founding Co-Chair of the ACGME Clinical Learning Environment Review (CLER), as well as a board member of the National Patient Safety Foundation and a member of NASA’s Aerospace Safety Advisory Panel.  In 2001, he was recognized by the American Medical Association with the Dr. Nathan S. Davis Award for outstanding public service in the advancement of public health as well as the Association of American Medical Colleges’ first annual Innovations Award.


Dr. Bagian earned his Doctor of Medicine degree from Thomas Jefferson University, completed residency training in general surgery at Geisinger Medical Center and residency training in anesthesiology at The Hospital at the University of Pennsylvania.

 Vineet Arora, MD, MAPP

 Associate Chief Medical Officer-Clinical Learning Environment

University of Chicago 

  Stephen Auciello, MD,

  Assistant Program Director, Family Medicine and Medical Director, Community Outreach

  OhioHealth - Riverside Methodist Hospital

  Richard Battiola, MD, FACP

  Program Director, Internal Medicine

  Advocate Aurora Health

Jake Bidwell, MD

DIO and Director GME Programs

Advocate Aurora Health

John Duval, MBA, FACHE

Retired CEO, VCU Hospitals and Clinics and ACGME Senior Scholar

Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) 

Judith Gravdal, MD

Moris M. Goldberg, MD Chair Department of Family Medicine

Advocate Aurora Health

  Laurie Hommema, MD

  Program Director, Family Medicine Residency Program and

  Co-Chair OhioHealth Resilience Collaborative

  OhioHealth Riverside Methodist Hospital

  Chrissy Hopp, DO

  Resident Council Well-Being Officer, Resident PGY 3

  Community Health Network Inc.

  Telycia Johnson, DO

  Resident Physician

  Community Health Network Inc.

Rumneet Kullar, MD

LSU-OLOL Resident, Psychiatry 

Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center

Tricia La Fratta, MBA

Manager, Graduate Medical Education

Advocate Aurora Health

  Eva Mathews, MD, MPH

  Associate Program Director, LSU-OLOL Psychiatry Residency Program 

  Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center

Graham McMahon, MD

Chief Executive Officer

Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME)

  Justin Mills, MD, MPH, FAAP

  Medical Officer, Center for Evidence Based Practice and Improvement

  Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Lauren Mulligan, MD

LSU-OLOL Resident, Psychiatry

Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center

  Stephanie Nader, LCSW

  Director, GME Behavioral Education

  Community Health Network Inc.

Srividya Naganathan, MD

Faculty, Pediatric Residency

Jersey Shore University Medical Center

Christine Oryhan, MD

Pain Medicine Fellowship Program Director

Virginia Mason Medical Center

Ryan Pong, MD

Deputy DIO and Program Director,  Transitional Year Residency Program

Virginia Mason Medical Center

  Blane Riley, DO

  Resident Physician

  Community Health Network Inc.

Paul Schwartzberg, DO, MBA

Program Director, Pediatric Residency and Associate DIO

Jersey Shore University Medical Center

Deborah Simpson, PhD

Director Medical Education Programs

Advocate Aurora Health

Kevin Weiss, MD

Chief Officer of the Department of Sponsoring Institutions and Clinical Learning Environment Programs

Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)

  Kathleen Zoppi, PhD, MPH

  Sr. Vice President, Chief Academic Officer and DIO

  Community Health Network Inc.